day 263 – breaking open

by talbystrianyk

263

263

Had I known what a difficult year this would be I might not have ventured out on this experiment, however this blog has been an assistant in my own “breaking open”. In talking with others it seems that 2013 has been a rough year for many, so it has been comforting knowing that others are also going through some sort of rebirth. A great friend recommended this book years ago and while I was packing up my life last week I came across it lost and buried, tucked away in a basket. It was one of the few items I didn’t put away in storage, and I am grateful it found me again. Elizabeth Lesser dives deep into suffering and burns it away in what she calls the phoenix process. Lesser takes pain and cups it gently in her hands for you to take a close thoughtful look. Acknowledging fear and pain helps in its understanding. Reading the remarkable stories Lesser collected reminds us that through this suffering there can indeed be growth, wisdom and ultimately love.

“We are chunks of dense matter that need to be cracked open. Our errors and failings are chinks in the heart’s armor through which our true colors can shine.”
Elizabeth Lesser

